21st September 2014
Facebook’s ‘Privacy Checkup’ tool for posts, apps and profile
Earlier this month, Facebook enabled a new ‘Privacy Checkup’ tool, giving you clearer information about the privacy settings it offers for your posts, apps and personal information.
Privacy Checkup is intended to help simplify some of the most important privacy settings affecting information you publish and retain on Facebook. You should take the opportunity to examine the settings for your account.
The tool is available when you view your Facebook page using a web browser. You can find it by clicking the Privacy Shortcuts drop menu next to the notification icon at the top of your page.
Once you have opened Privacy Checkup, the first step focuses on your posts. You can set who you would like to see your future posts, such as your friends, or you can customise your selection.
The second step lists the apps you are using and their permissions. You can remove apps from this list, change permissions and restrict who can see the apps you use.
The final step shows you the main information held in your profile and who can view this information.
You should restrict access to your information wherever possible. For all of these options, we recommend you choose ‘Friends’ or a more restrictive option (such as ‘Only Me’) if convenient.
In addition to the Privacy Checkup, there are further settings accessible via the ‘See More Settings’ link at the bottom of the Privacy Shortcuts menu (or via Settings in the main drop menu ).
Facebook has more information on their privacy tools, including information for mobile devices.
The information provided here is of a general nature. Everyone’s circumstances are different. If you require specific advice you should contact your local technical support provider.